The Telegraph Quartet with special guest Ilya Yakushev

July 31, 2018 • 7:30pm

The Telegraph Quartet will perform at Summer Music from Greensboro on July 31, 2018


Mozart—String Quartet in D major, K.575
(“The Prussian”)
Liszt—Vallée d’Obermann
(from Années de pèlerinage)
Shostakovich—Piano Quintet, Opus 57

We expect musical sparks to fly when the “exceptional” Telegraph Quartet from the Bay Area performs with the “astounding” pianist Ilya Yakushev from St. Petersburg.

Described by the San Francisco Chronicle as “powerfully adept…with a combination of brilliance and subtlety” and as an “incredibly valuable addition to the cultural landscape,” the Telegraph Quartet is committed to bringing chamber music “off the stage and into the audience.” And the Telegraph Quartet does just that.

The Telegraph Quartet performed an outstanding concert that delighted SMfG’s audience last summer and many of our audience members urged us to invite them to return this summer. We very much appreciate the Quartet’s doing so.

Observe the Telegraph Quartet in performance as they play Beethoven’s Opus 59, No.2:

Ilya Yakushev will perform at Summer Music from Greensboro on July 31, 2018

Telegraph Quartet violinist Joseph Maile has commented: “Chamber music — and the string quartet in particular — offers a unique quality for audiences to wrap their mind around… To me, a string quartet is an intimate experience — a personal experience. There’s something really important for people to experience not just what it sounds like, but how it looks — what’s the drama of our relationship with each other.”

Russian pianist Ilya Yakushev “can do just about anything he wants.”– The New York Times. “Yakushev is one of the very best young pianists before the public today, and [his repertoire] is all of the highest caliber.” – American Record Guide.

With many awards and honors to his credit, Ilya Yakushev continues to astound and mesmerize audiences at major venues on three continents.

Witness his virtuosity as he performs Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition:

What an exceptional concert this should be! Beyond a superb choice of pieces, it will provide an exciting opportunity to witness masterful performances by world-class musicians. We hope you can join us.

To Order Tickets for This Performance and Subscriptions for the 2018 Concert Series:

Pricing: $20.00 • Save $20 on the 2018 Series Subscription: $80.00 • Age 18 and Under FREE

Location: Greensboro United Church165 Wilson Street, Greensboro, VT 05841

Purchase Tickets Online: Order securely through using the form below

Enjoy the show!

Posted in Events | Comments Off on The Telegraph Quartet with special guest Ilya Yakushev

Comments are closed.